R K Tyagi Appointed Director, Operations At Power Grid Corporation

R K Tyagi Appointed Director, Operations At Power Grid Corporation

R K Tyagi has taken over the reins of Power Grid Corporation as Director of Operations.

According to the regulatory filing by PowerGrid Corporation, which is under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Power, “R K Tyagi has assumed the charge of post of Director (Operations), Power Grid on 12 August, 2022 till the date of his superannuation i.e. March 31, 2026 or until further orders, whichever is earlier.”

Aged 56, Tyagi brings to the table more than 32 years of experience in power transmission system. Of these, 25 were spent in O&M of sub-stations. His illustrious career entails holding several notable positions with both Power Grid as well as NTPC. An electrical engineer from Punjab Engineering College (PEC), Chandigarh, he boasts of a degree in MTech in Energy Studies from IIT Delhi and armed with a Fulbright Scholar from Carnegie Mellon University, Pennsylvania, US.

He has handled multi-disciplinary functions in various business segments of Power Grid like asset management, engineering, business development (domestic & abroad), telecom, load despatch & communication, NTAMC, safety, DMS etc. Prior to this, he was Executive Director (North Eastern Region) in Power Grid and has handled functions of project execution, asset management, finance, commercial and various other regional functions. 

Tyagi is representing India in many International technical committees for preparing various Technical Standards and has authored more than 50 technical papers which have been presented in National and International conferences.  

He is Chairperson of International Council on Large Electric Systems (CIGRE) National Study Committee C3 (Power System Environmental Performance), Indian representative in various CIGRE study groups on Power Transformers(A2) and Transmission & Distribution Equipment(A3). He is also a Member of International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) TC122 (Standardization in the field of AC transmission for voltages exceeding 800kV) & IEC TC123 (Standardization of asset management practices in Power networks), Member of MT36 – representing India for preparation of International Standard, IEC62271-100 on EHV Circuit Breakers, Chairperson of Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) Committee, Electro-Technical Division (ETD) 53 on standardization of the management of assets and member of ETD 48 on UHVAC Transmission System.

He was recently conferred with prestigious 1906 Award in Year 2022 for his exceptional contribution in International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) TC 122 towards development of IEC 63042 – Ultra High Voltage Alternating Current (UHVAC) Transmission Systems. He was also honored with CIGRE Paris Award as distinguished member for development of technical standards in the field of transmission system in the year 2018.

"Want to be featured here or have news to share? Write to info[at]saurenergy.com